Organisational structure

Our union is a democratic, member-led organisation.

Our union’s key decision-making bodies are our Committee of Management and Branch Executive. The Committee of Management is comprised of 11 elected members and our Branch Executive is comprised of 34 elected members (29 Queensland members and five Northern Territory members).

Members are elected to these roles for quadrennial terms.

Our leadership team

Terry Burke
Branch Secretary

Terry Burke has led our union since 1995. Terry started his teaching career as a secondary teacher in Catholic Education in Toowoomba, later holding administrative and leadership roles.

Under Terry’s leadership, our union has continued to grow in numbers and, more importantly, in density and member activism.

 Terry is also a Director of Teachers’ Union Health and NGS Super.

Paul Giles
Assistant Secretary/Treasurer

Assistant Secretary/Treasurer Paul Giles joined our union’s staff in 2000. Prior to that Paul was a member of our union’s governing body.

Paul has taught in the non-government sector on the Gold Coast and in Logan as a classroom teacher and teacher-librarian.

In his leadership role, Paul enjoys liaising with members about the strategic direction of our union.

Brad Hayes
Assistant Secretary

Brad Hayes initially commenced work with our union under the ACTU Organising Works program and went on to work as an Organiser in regional and metropolitan branches for 18 years.

Brad was first elected to the position of Assistant Secretary in 2014.

During his work with our union, Brad has developed a deep understanding of what it takes to build member power in schools. Brad’s current role includes extensive collective bargaining responsibilities and the coordination of member activities and campaigns.

Rebecca Sisson
Assistant Secretary

Rebecca Sisson initially joined our union’s staff as a Research Officer in 2005. Rebecca later led our union’s Membership Team before becoming an Assistant Secretary in 2014.

During her time with our union, Rebecca has developed extensive experience in areas of data management and analysis, database development, as well as member engagement.

Rebecca is also a Director of Teacher’s Union Health and an Executive Member of the Queensland Council of Unions.

Our staff

Our union employs a team of expert and specialist staff to support members. Click here to read more about our team.

Interested in joining our team?
Click here to visit our vacancies page.

Committee of management

President: Aleisha Connellan

Secretary: Terry Burke

Assistant Secretary/Treasurer: Paul Giles

Assistant Secretary: Brad Hayes

Assistant Secretary: Rebecca Sisson

Senior Vice-President (NT Division): Erica Schultz

Senior Vice-President (QLD Division): Bryce Goldburg

Junior Vice-President: Vacant

Committee Member: Cameron Love

Committee Member: Ian Hughes

Committee Member: Louise Lenzo